Rita Woods

Rita Woods
Executive Committee, Eastern Region Representative
District 68 Chair
Occupation: Retired, Correctional Career Coach

Job Title/Responsibilities: I trained all new custody correctional staff at Tyrrell Prison Work Farm and Hyde Correctional Institution. I trained them on the Standard Operating Procedures and assisting them in getting acclimated to the working environment. Some of the topics of discussions were ethics, grooming, entrance and exit, blood borne pathogens, and undue familiarity just to name a few.

How/when did you become involved in SEANC? I joined SEANC as soon as I was hired by the state and went to my first District 68 meeting around 1998. After finding out what SEANC is all about, I became a more active member.

How many years have you been a SEANC member? I have been a SEANC member for 31 years.

What offices have you held in SEANC? In addition to my current positions as Eastern Region Representative and District 68 Chair, I served on the Prison Reform Committee and the Collective Bargaining Committee. In addition, I have held every district level position except District 68 Secretary and Treasurer.

What has been the most rewarding part of being active in SEANC? I am dedicated to getting information out to state employees, state retirees and SEANC members. As an Executive Board member, I travel around the state reaching out to people, finding out answers to their questions and getting them involved in SEANC.

What do you wish everyone knew about SEANC? I wish more state employees and retirees understood what SEANC does for them. If they would get involved in SEANC, they would see firsthand what SEANC can do.

Tell us about your family: I am blessed with one daughter, one son and six grandchildren. My daughter works as Food Service Manager at Tyrrell Prison Work Farm, and my son works for a furniture company. My grandchildren range in age from College sophomore to one year old. I currently babysit the younger grandchildren while their parents are at work.I love spending time with my family and friends.