

SEANC Board of Governors Meeting Minutes September 10, 2016 Greensboro, NC

President Stanley Drewery called the BOG meeting to order at 2:25 pm.

Darius McLaurin gave the Invocation.

Betty Gautier, Secretary, conducted the roll call.

Attendees: Stanley Drewery, President; Gloria Evans, First Vice President; Darius McLaurin, Second Vice President; Chevella Thomas, Treasurer; Ross Hailey, Past President; Janice Smith, Insurance Board Chair; Benny Brigman, Retiree Council Chair; Kim Martin, Parliamentarian; Ray Evans, Parliamentarian; Betty Gautier, Secretary

(1) Jim Pressley for Mark Hasjett (absent), (2) Cliff Johnson, (3) Pat Reighard, (4) Tim Southard, (5) Tony Smith, (6) Sonya Akbar, (7) Henry Belada, (8) Ron Hunt, (9) Jamie Robinson, (10) Dennis Hartley, (11) Kenny Brower, (12) Alicia Baucom, (13) Linda Colbert, (16) Willie Bailey, (17) Kemrey Lamar, (18) Lisa Martin, (19) Marie Tate, (20) Jacque Chatman, (21) Janice Bass, (22) Deborah Harney, (23) Harold Faulk, (24) A.J. Albertson, (25) Kirk Montgomery, (26) Stanley Gales, (27) Sam Rogers, (28) Felicia McKinnie, (37) Furman Beckwith, (38) Margaret Reader, (39) George Thiessen, (40) Vernice Whyms, (41) Mike Gould, (42) Shirley Bell, (43) Debra Dunston, (44) Pat Holcomb, (45) Adrina Jones for Joyce Yelverton (absent), (46) Randy Bruton, (47) Shirley Ballard, (56) Grace Edwards, (57) Daisy Stancill, (58) Pam Hailey, (59) Kathy Merritt, (60) Hiawatha Jones, (61) Cindy Hester, (62) Laura Overstreet, (63) Sherry Dodge, (64) Latina Shelley, (65) Alicia Simpson, (66) Francisco Duarte, (67) Patricia Moore, (68) Rita Woods, (69) Keith Renner, (70) Debra Tyson; Awards: TBD; Bylaws Advisory: Jimmy Davis; EMPAC: Tony Smith; Expansion/Growth: TBD; Member Discount: TBD; Member Strength: TBD; Membership: Ron Fields; Planning: Gloria Evans; Policy Platform: Jim Pressley; Scholarship: TBD; Emerging Leaders: Emily Jones; Audit Committee: Keith Renner; Director of Search Committee: Martha Fowler; Standards Review Committee: Tara Minter (absent) & Ray Evans; Personnel Manual Review Committee: Ross Hailey; Public Relations Committee: Hiawatha Jones; Mitch Leonard, Executive Director; Chuck Stone, Director of Operations; Brian Keel, Chief Financial Officer

Darius McLaurin explained the travel mileage reimbursement.

President Drewery welcomed the new BOG and shared information on the committees.

Jimmy Davis conducted the elections for the regional representatives. The following were elected by the district chairs for the 2016 - 2017 term:

Regional Representatives

Alternate Regional Representatives

West:Cliff JohnsonSonya AkbarPiedmont:Kirk MontgomeryJacque ChatmanNorth Central:Stanley GalesMike GouldSouth Central:Deborah HarneyA. J. AlbertsonEast:Keith RennerKathy Merritt

President Stanley Drewery challenged the Regional Representatives to visit each district in their region twice during the year.

The following were proposed as the BOG meeting dates for the 2016 -2017 SEANC year:

November 18 – 19, 2016 February 24 – 25, 2017 May 19 – 20, 2017 July 21 – 22, 2017

Mike Gould made a motion to accept the proposed dates. Dennis Hartley seconded.

Ali Baucom made a motion to change the first date to November 4 - 5, 2016. No second was received. Motion failed.

Tony Smith stated to just keep the proposed dates.

The motion passed with the original proposed dates.

Chuck Stone gave a presentation on the 2016 – 2017 Mileage Reimbursement Rate.

Chuck Stone proposed to lower the mileage rate from \$.50/mile to \$.45/mile for SEANC Fiscal Year October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017 for all state committees if average state gasoline prices remain at/below \$3 per gallon. The SEANC President shall be reimbursed at the IRS mileage rate due to extensive travel, vehicle depreciation, and elimination of the President's Discretionary Fund. The SEANC 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents, Treasurer, and staff will be reimbursed at \$.50 per mile. The SEANC mileage reimbursement rate will be increased to \$.50 per mile should average state gasoline prices exceed \$3. Ride sharing is encouraged.

Keith Renner stated that Officers should be reimbursed at the IRS rate. The BOG should be at \$.50/mile.

Chuck Stone stated that we said last year we would revisit the mileage issue.

Tony Smith commented that the officers should be at 50 cents per mile.

Henry Belada stated that he agreed with Tony Smith.

Benny Brigman asked has there been pen put to paper to show savings.

Chuck Stone stated that it would be around \$7,200 to \$7,500 savings.

Keith Renner made a motion as listed below. Mike Gould seconded.

The SEANC mileage reimbursement rate for SEANC Fiscal Year October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017 will be:

- 1. IRS rate per mile for SEANC Officers, including the Parliamentarian(s) and the SEANC Secretary; (Officers include SEANC President, 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents, Treasurer, and Immediate Past President per SEANC Bylaws)
- 2. \$.50 per mile for Board of Governors, committee members, and SEANC staff.
- 3. Ride sharing is encouraged and those sharing travel miles will be reimbursed at the IRS mileage rate.

The SEANC reimbursement rate for meals and lodging will be those established for the state.

Breafast \$ 8.30 Lunch \$10.90

Dinner \$18.70 in-state and \$21.30 out of state

Lodging \$67.30 + Tax\$ in-state and \$79.50 + Tax\$ out of state

Keith Renner stated that the BOG could revisit the mileage rate if gas rates exceed \$3.

Motion passed.

Cliff Johnson issued a challenge to the BOG that if we ask our staff to be SEANC warriors, then Chairs should be willing to accept one of the points to be a SEANC warrior.

The Make A Wish donations during convention exceeded \$12,000.

Hiawatha Jones challenged the BOG to help with voter registration – Get out to vote!

Executive Director Mitch Leonard introduced the SEANC staff to the BOG. Mitch Leonard -- (919) 417-4068

Shirley Ballard asked that a written report be received from the Regional Representatives. President Drewery is to talk with the Regional Representatives.

Margaret Reader asked that the District Chairs receive the same information as committee chairs.

Tony Smith asked that the District Chairs email District EMPAC Chairs and At Large Members for EMPAC. tonysmith@gmail.com

Martha Fowler asked District Chairs to make recommendations for the Director Search Committee. <u>Mfowler99@gmail.com</u>

Sherry Dodge asked if there is anyone that she can contact regarding members who have passed away.

Cliff Johnson asked that the Office notify Chairs when members in their districts have passed.

President Stanley Drewery (252) 916-9421 <u>drewerystanley@yahoo.com</u>

Stanley Gales stated that districts need a number before offering money back on rebates. The money should be rebated in about two weeks.

Marie Tate suggested that communications be sent to members letting them know that the dues have been increased.

President Stanley Drewery wants Hiawatha Jones' group to contact every member.

Executive Director Mitch Leonard said that they have to notify everybody that dues are being increased. Information will be made available on the dues increase in the Reporter and at meetings.

Ron Fields, as Membership Chair, wants to have a meeting with the Chairpersons at headquarters for Membership. Ron has a plan to show how the \$5 increase will be good for them. Ron wants to come to district meetings, and he wants to help with growing membership. 1946ronaldfields@gmail.com

Chevella Thomas wants to put Darius' speech (from convention) on the SEANC website and on YouTube. It is truly a motivational speech.

Mike Gould made a motion to adjourn at 4 pm. Motion was seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Betty Gautier Secretary