

## Awards presented at annual meeting

AWARDS - D65 Chair Alicia Simpson, left, presents Cynthia Hart with the Member of the Year Award during the Annual Meeting on June 20 at the Seahorse Restaurant in Greenville. Simpson also presented Certificates of Appreciation to Cynthia Brown, Tammy Heller and Karen Simmons for their work this past year.



SCHOLARSHIP WINNER - Scholarship Chair Debbie Austin, left, introduces Chrishauna Barnes, right, winner of a D65 \$400 scholarship. She is a nursing student at Pitt Community College and is also a state winner. Other scholarship winners were ECU student Ashley Weingartz, \$600; UNCW student Kayla Kozup, \$600; and Alexis Vann, NCSU, \$400. Weingartz and Kozup were also named state winners.



SPECIAL GUESTS - Chairwoman Alicia Simpson, center, welcomes SEANC President Stanley Drewery, left, and SEANC Executive Director Mitch Leonard, right.





RELAY - On behalf of the American Cancer Society, Kendra Paiz, center, presented Debbie Austin, left and Lynn Tuthill, right, with certificates of appreciation for their leadership of the SEANC Purple and Gold Crusaders. The Crusaders raised more than \$3,600 during the Relay for Life event. SEANC donated \$500 allowing their name to appear on the official t-shirt.



**CMN BROADCAST - District** 65 volunteered during the Children's Miracle Network Celebration Broadcast June 2 & 4. The total raised during the weekend was \$1,011,904, all of which stays in Eastern North Carolina to provide programs, equipment and services for children that are being treated in the James and Connie Maynard Children's Hospital at Vidant Medical Center in Greenville. Pictured from left to right are District 65 members Johnny Stanley, Debbie Austin, James Willis, Barbara Henry, & Lynn Tuthill. Not pictured: Lina Johnson.



## Gloria Evans named SEANC Member Rep

Gloria Evans, left, has been named **SEANC** member relations representative for the east region. "We are so excited to have her as our new SEANC staff representative," said Chairwoman Alicia Simpson, right. "We have the best of both worlds!" Evans has worked at ECU for the past 15 years in Clinical Financial Services. She has served D65 as chair, vice chair, secretary, delegate, and has represented the district on the state and regional level as Eastern Regional Representative, state treasurer, second vice president and first vice president. She will assume her new position in July.

## District 65 2017-2018 Officers

Chairperson - Alicia Simpson Vice Chairperson - Bill Dawson Secretary - Lina Johnson Treasurer - Debbie Austin Auditing - Camilla Dawson Awards - Lina Johnson Benevolence - Jacqueline Caudill Bylaws - Tammy Heller Communications - Karen Simmons Emerging Leaders - LaRanda Boone EMPAC - Cynthia Hart Hospitality - Tammy Heller Member Discount - Cynthia Hart Membership - Dwayne Mackey Member Strength - Cynthia Brown Nominating - Lina Johnson Parliamentarian - Doris Whitaker Policy Platform - Mary Johnson Retiree - Bill Dawson Scholarship - Debbie Austin **Volunteer Action - TBD** Delegate - Phyllis Hart Delegate - Elisha Whitaker New terms start October 1, 2017